“Kim Kardashian is the hardest working young lady in the world”

Source: celebuzz.com

Source: celebuzz.com

A couple of weeks ago President Obama gave an interview and spoke about what the American Dream has become.  He said success used to be about having a good education, a good job, a good home and feeling secure, but it is now about having flashy cars and living in massive houses, basically wanting what celebrities have.

I think, there has also been a shift in culture. We weren’t exposed to the things we didn’t have in the same way that kids these days are. There was not that window into the lifestyles of the rich and famous. Kids weren’t monitoring every day what Kim Kardashian was wearing, or where Kanye West was going on vacation, and thinking that somehow that was the mark of success.

Well Kim’s pimp mum Kris Jenner didn’t really appreciate Obama mentioning her daughter in that way and, among other things, said on her talk show:

And Kim Kardashian is the hardest-working young lady in the world. She never sleeps, she never stops, she never slows down and works so hard for what she’s got.

Now I mentioned this story to my cousin, and she said she can see that Kim really does work hard.  She said it can’t be easy travelling all over the way she does, having to promote this and that.  I’m sorry but I disagree.  I have a problem with the word ‘hard’ being used in this way.  I don’t think it’s hard to travel all over, I just think it can be tiring.  There’s nothing hard about being paid thousands of dollars to make brief appearances at a club or event.  Or to turn up on red carpets to be photographed.  Hard work to me is what my mum has to do; looking after the elderly, lifting them, washing them and cleaning up the poo that some of them decide to smear around the room.  Or what my other cousin, a barrister, has to do; reading through piles and piles of paperwork through the night, so that she leaves court with the right outcome for the person whose life currently depends on her.  I know I don’t have to list all the professions we know take years of study and honing to achieve.  Being a socialite is just not one of them, sorry.

I read about this whole thing on Madame Noire, and one of their readers commented:

“Ok Kris Jenner. Let’s be clear. Kim hasn’t really “worked” that hard for anything. She had a staring role in “Kim does Ray J” which you parlayed into a family business. Now because of YOU the rest of the world has to endure your family being famous for absolutely nothing! The only reason you have a talk show is because of the “work” you have done pimping out your children for the cameras. Please have a seat and be quiet. You know POTUS is right.”

Exxactly.  By the way, if you didn’t already know, POTUS = President Of The United States.  But as much as it pains me to say it, at a stretch Kris The Momager is who can be considered as the one who has worked hard.  Trying to convince us that her offspring have some sort of talent that we should deem relevant can’t be easy.  Otherwise… nah.

What do you think?

3 comments on ““Kim Kardashian is the hardest working young lady in the world”

  1. I ABSOLUTELY agree with you.
    It’s like when I hear about the Royal family “working” or “returning to work” – getthehellouttahere.
    Duties yes, working? Certainly not.

  2. I can understand both perspectives.
    Kim Kardashians does not do traditional work, dirty work, or work that people hate but has to be done. I also don’t know if I could honestly say her job is important despite their being millions who admire her. If it wasn’t her I’m sure they could just find someone else to look up to. Maybe even someone who fits moral standards more traditionally.

    However, I definitely would say her job(s) is not easy and as glamorous as it is, if given the opportunity I don’t think most of us would want to do it. Her job basically relies on people picking her life, personality, and body apart that has to be draining. Not to mention all the makeup, hair, photoshoots, interviews.

    I agree with Obama the American Dream has completely changed. Unfortunately, him mentioning Kim kind of through her under the bus. The dream changed long before her and that change has more to do with us as Americans then it has to do with the Kardashians.

    • I definitely hear you, because I wouldn’t want to have to do what she does, with my whole life under scrutiny being the only way I make money. Kanye took it as a compliment that Obama called them the current American Dream. Hmm.

Leave a Reply

