Hook Me Up!

IMG_6057

Today I started a new temp job, which is supposed to only last a week, but hopefully with this new agency it’ll lead to more opportunites.  As you know I left my job in 2010 to chase that full time dream… and I’m still chasing it.  Admittedly though, I feel like I am a few steps closer than I was a year ago.

Mondays are usually my job hunting day, but since I was working today I haven’t been able to do the usual generic hunt.  Instead I thought I’d try another way; I’m going to tell you exactly what kind of thing I’m ideally looking for, what I’m good at and what I enjoy doing, and maybe you might know of an opportunity that would make me happy!

So… My ideal fantasy job would be that of a freelance writer who doesn’t have to be based in an office, and has the opportunity to travel for work.  I would like to have a column in a women’s or general lifestyle and popular culture publication, writing about love and relationships or showbiz.  I would LOVE the chance to do a stint in New York City or Los Angeles – it’s been a bit of a dream of mine for some years now.

I am good at interviewing, and turning them into features or biographies.  Actually here’s a biog I did earlier… here.  I am good at witty opinion pieces.  I am good at researching.  I am very good at editing and proofreading.  I am very organised.

As well as all that, I enjoy the rush I get from organising a successful event.  My friends and I had an events company some years ago and it was equally fun and hard work.  But even if we hadn’t formed that company, if I just consider the number of parties and drink-ups I’ve helped to organise just in my social life alone, that counts for a lot dammit!  I enjoy social media and I’m very active on Twitter and Facebook.  I really don’t care for the opinions of those who think social media means you have no outside social skills, that’s just b*llocks.  Yes, it has proven to be a blessing and a curse, but thankfully it has been more of a blessing to me.

So that’s me really.  Know of anything suitable?  Anyone I should meet?  Anyone I should schmooze with tea or tequila? If so, HOOK A SISTER UP!

*Disclaimer:  I’m not looking to work for free.  I ‘spent’ enough time doing that, I want to be rewarded for my skills.  Plus I’ve got bills to pay,  don’t forget I live in London.

Leave a Reply

