My Name Is Wendi… And I Am An Addict

I am writing this post after almost three weeks of having practically no internet access.  My service provider told me I needed a new power charger (or some such) and yet took  their sweet time in sending one. Suffice to say they offered me money off and free movies for two months – they know they had to.  You’ll be happy to hear that I am currently temping, a placement that is supposed to last for three months (which is absolutely fine with me) and yes, there is internet access there, but I can hardly spend my day browsing the blogs and entertainment and shopping sites can I?  What would they think of me?  Add to that the fact that my computer is in a position where everyone can see my screen, it is hardly ideal.

On top of that –  as we speak (or you read), my beloved Blackberry Bold is in Blackberry hospital, and could be there for up to three weeks!  I have had to resort to using my old Blackberry Curve, which has now decided that it does not want to scroll down, therefore I can’t access my groups, calendar or photos, or anything that isn’t on the top row of my homescreen, and I have to discover alternative ways to navigate my way around.  I took it to the phone shop hoping they could just quickly unscrew it and fix the trackball or at least use some cleaning alcohol to unstick it, but they told me that they would have to send it off to Blackberry for repair.  Does it even make sense that while your current phone is being repaired, your back-up phone must also be sent off??

When my Blackberry started malfunctioning, I won’t lie… I felt like a piece of me was dying.  This isn’t the first time I’ve had that feeling either.  Last year I very foolishly got the phone wet and predictably it went doolally, so I took it apart, dried it with a hairdryer and left it that way through the night, but I couldn’t sleep properly with the thought that it may not return to normal.  I actually felt very upset, as though my heart wasn’t functioning correctly.  That’s not right!

I enjoy social networking, not to the degree of where I have an account on every single platform, but definitely Facebook and Twitter.  I admit to being one of those people who checks the status and tweet updates of my friends, from my phone, before I even get out of bed in the mornng.  I also enjoy having conversations on Blackberry Messenger and WhatsApp.  No, I haven’t lost the ability to speak on the phone itself, but you have to admit that conversing with people on these applications allows for multi-tasking.  But in the past week I’ve felt almost mute!  I couldn’t visit the usual websites I do every day, due to no internet access.  I can see my contacts updating their BBM statuses and I still can’t.  I can see all the notification icons of the BB Groups I am a part of, lined up on my homescreen, and I just have to wonder what discussion is taking place without me.  I haven’t even been able to download WhatsApp to this Blackberry, because I wouldn’t be able to get to it, since like everything else it would involve scrolling down. Grrrr!

A tad melodramatic? Maybe.  Do I need to get a grip and realise that these are merely luxuries we did absolutely fine without years ago? No.  What I need is for my phone to be repaired ASAP and sent back to me pronto!!

Leave a Reply

