Speaky Spokey

 

Firstly I just want to say that I know with this post I am in danger of offending and possibly alienating people I know and people I am close to, so I am inserting this disclaimer before I get started:  I’m doing this out of love and care for you.  That is all.

Since joining social networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter, I have noticed just how many people haven’t fully grasped the art of proper grammar, and it seems to multiply each day.  So much so that nowadays I’m paranoid about making the same mistakes simply because they look to be in danger of becoming the norm!  I admit to being a bit of a snob when it comes to speaking and writing correctly, but in no way am I saying that I am perfect.  Not at all.  There is so much more I myself can learn.  But I don’t think people take the time out to really check what they’re writing, so I’m going to help you!  Please remember my disclaimer and don’t take it in any sort of patronising way.

 

YOUR vs YOU’RE

This is the most popular crime I see being committed!  Please take a look at the below image:

Do you get it?  You can’t say “Your funny”, because “your” refers to a person’s possession.  What you mean is “You are funny”, in which case “you’re” is the correct term.  It’s “you are” but with the ‘a’ replaced by an apostrophe, just so you can say the sentence quicker.  Geddit?  If you say to me “Your funny”, I interpret that as “my funny”, and that doesn’t make sense – my funny what??

 

THEIR vs THEY’RE vs THERE

Now where do I start?  Ok:  “Their” is the same as “your”, it means belonging to.  “They’re” is the same as “you’re”, it means “they are”.  “There” is a bit more complicated.  As explained by Dictionary.com ( please look there) it means ‘that place’ or ‘a point in action’ or ‘in that matter’.  Basically the way I have been seeing the words used, “there” has been put in place of “their” and “they’re.”  So people would write: “There song is really good” or “There quite a rubbish group”.  It makes me cringe, because it doesn’t make sense.  It should be: “Their (belonging to) song is really good” and “They’re (they are) quite a rubbish group.”  I would like people to take the time to break down what the sentence would be in full, then think about what the correct word or abbreviation would be.  It really doesn’t take long.

 

“SHOULD OF”

Ugh – with this one I think I know where the problem stems from.  When people say “should of” what they should be saying is “should have.”  The abbreviation of “should have” is “should’ve”, and that’s what I think is being misinterpreted as “should of.”  Understand?  If you say to me:  “You should of bought those shoes,” my response to you should be, “Yeah I know, but I ofn’t.”  Have you ever heard of “ofn’t?”  Didn’t think so.  But if you say: “You should’ve bought those shoes,”  I can then reply, “Yeah I know, but I haven’t.”  Makes more sense right?

THE SPELLING OF ‘DEFINITELY’

I’ve seen a trillion variations of the spelling of this word.  Ok not exactly a trillion, but a lot of people are confused about how to spell this word correctly, and spellings range from ‘Definately’ to ‘Definitly’ to ‘Defantely.’  So let’s tackle it this way:  break down the word itself to exactly how you pronounce it.  I’m sure you’ll come up with DEF-IN-IT-ELY.  Did you?  Now say it quickly. See?  Those previous spellings are incorrect.  There is no ‘a’ in ‘definitely.’

There are other grammatical errors that bother me, but not as much as those I’ve mentioned.  Please people, let’s work together to clean up Twitter and Facebook and show that years at school weren’t wasted.  And remember:

6 comments on “Speaky Spokey

  1. Your really great with words their. I should of paid more attention at skool.

    But for real, I don’t think this is a slang issue. This is actually just bad grammar masquerading as slang. And it gets on my nerves too! Great post! And yes, I know you shouldn’t use ‘and’ after a full stop…

  2. Superb post, I bang on about this all the time too. Now I don’t have to any more, I can just send offenders to this post.

    And there is nothing wrong with staring a sentence with And or But, it’s perfectly acceptable grammar. We were taught that in primary school to encourage us to develop our sentences otherwise they all would have sounded like: In the holidays we went to the seaside. And we had a god time. And we had lots of ice cream. And my mummy went in the sea. And ad infinitum… Great post Wendi

Leave a Reply

