Who remembers… Blossom!

Oh my goodness, talk about a blast from the past!  Do you remember when CH4 would broadcast this show on Friday evenings at 6pm?  Yes I remember the day and time, sad I know, but I loved watching Blossom and I recorded almost all the episodes.

For those who vaguely remember this sitcom, let me refresh your memory.  Blossom Russo was a teenage girl who lived with her father and two older brothers, since her mum had walked out on them to go and live her own life.  Charming.  One brother, Tony, was a recovering druggie and alcoholic, and the other, Joey, was just… a dumb jock.  Blossom also had a best friend called Six who lived next door, and had a huge crush on Joey.  She was probably the funniest character actually.

Blossom ran for five seasons, from 1990-1995, during which we watched her deal with many of the typical issues experienced by young girls – first period, first serious boyfriend, troubled family members, being there for her friends, as well as dealing with the absence of her mother.

I think I really enjoyed the show because – apart from having a huge crush on Joey myself – there wasn’t any other show that appealed to me as a young girl growing up.  There were some things I didn’t think were realistic, for example, how Blossom wasn’t actually that attractive, and was quite up herself, but yet everybody loved her and guys still wanted her.  But I think the fact that she was my age, and I was inexperienced in the teenage things she was experiencing, made the show a sort of guide for me on the issues I could face growing up.  Though I don’t actually think she would be someone I could be friends with in real life…

In case you’re wondering, Mayim Bialik who played Blossom, graduated in 2008 with a PhD in Neuroscience, after doing mostly voiceover work when the show ended.  She is also a married mother of two sons, born in 2005 and 2008, and is involved in Conservadox Judaism.  Though she has not had a starring role in a television series, she currently has a recurring role as Amy Farrah Fowler on The Big Bang Theory.

Leave a Reply

